November

Holy Guacamole! Its November already!!!! I can hardly believe it! It seems like just yesterday I was saying goodbye to Iowa and getting on the plane to start this new adventure. Man oh man. Time sure flies! I’m so sorry that I’ve been terrible about keeping this blog up. I’ve been a little bit busy these days just trying to keep my head above water. I had no idea that teaching was so much planning, thinking, revamping and just overall work. Thank goodness for Pinterest! :o) But I LOVE it! I am so incredibly glad that I get to do it. And I am so blessed to have a school that supports me and is willing to help me. And my class truly is wonderful. I’ve been told over and over that this years 2nd grade class is a terrible class to have. Its the class with lots of problems. Problems with behavior, problems at home etc. Overall people have said “good luck I wouldn’t want to be in your class.” And i just think.. How dare you. How dare you not give these precious kids a chance. They are certainly a challenge some days. But these other teachers haven’t had a chance to see the GOOD side of these kids. The times when they have me laughing like crazy, when they say something so sweet, when they draw me a cute picture and when they show genuine compassion for others. I sometimes wish that these naysayer teachers wouldn’t get the privilege of teaching these kids in the future, but then other times I wish that they would, just so they would feel badly about all the mean things they’ve said about these sweetie pies. *sigh* This week the director of the school came into our classroom 2 times. Because our class was the class that he and the other dads at the school were praying for this week. When he came in he asked if anyone had any prayer requests. And 2 of my sweet kids said something that made my eyes start to water. One said, “Mr. Glenn, I would like to pray for you. You do a good job and do so much and I just want to pray for you.” The other one said ” I want to pray for Miss. Mitchell because she is the best teacher in the world. And I want to pray that she has a great week!” HOW PRECIOUS! These sweet babies pray for me. I love it. And when we have worship time during Bible one of our songs that we’ve been singing is “From the Inside out” and these sweet kids stand totally still, eyes closed, smiles on their faces, worshiping while singing. It is truly the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen. There is just something special when my kids sing. And I’m not being biased here. Over the last couple of weeks I’ve had several teachers tell me that when we sing they go to their doors to listen, or staff members gather around the tiendita (the little snack bar) and just listen with tears in their eyes and smiles on their faces. I love it.

Last Friday I had my first Parent Teacher Conferences. I was SO scared!!! But, the parents were great. And they went so well. Only 1 upset parent, and it wasn’t even anything I had done. Over all. It was a success :o)

Last week I had a new cultural experience. It was Halloween. Apparently they don’t celebrate it down here. Well, some do, but most don’t. About 1/2 of my kids are totally convinced that Halloween is totally from the Devil, and by celebrating it we are worshiping the devil. What is so interesting about this is that they celebrate day of the dead. A holiday where they leave food, say prayers and build alters to dead relatives. I just think its odd. I was talking to a friend about this and we came to the conclusion that there is just a big cultural difference. I’m sure that there is more to day of the dead than just praying, leaving offerings etc to dead people, just like there is lots of fun aspects to Halloween. I just thought it was funny that even doing stuff about spiders and bats last week and this next week several teachers were giving me a hard time for “celebrating halloween” in the classroom. Funny funny. 1 more cultural difference. Its not weird. Its just different.

Next week Josh and I are headed to Maui. WHOOP! His brother is getting married and he’s the best man and since we are engaged I haaaave to go, you know to be supportive and whatnot since we’ll all be family in 9 months and 3 days (but who’s counting). Twist my arm right? :o) I’m pretty excited to go. I’ve never been to Hawaii, and even if it is a super short trip, I’m stoked that I get to go. I’ll miss my sweetie pies for the days I’m gone, but somehow I think I’ll be alright :o)

Well guys, I’ve gotta finish plans and make Chicken Pot Pie and apple cider. Tonight Josh and I are getting together with some friends of ours. I’m so blessed to have such wonderful friends down here. Especially another couple friend so we can do stuff together. Its fun. I’m always blown away at God’s faithfulness when it comes to friends for me. Jehovah Jireh. :o) Have a good weekend friends! Can’t wait to see most of you NEXT MONTH!! WHOOP!

One response

  1. I am so proud of you. Just keep enjoying the moments…time goes so quickly. God is giving you glimpses of innocence and how He sees those precious children.

Leave a Reply

